Tiangong Space Station

Kenya will be joining 17 nations invited to join China’s unique space mission under the Tiangong Space Station.

A Chinese affiliated media claimed that the 17 nations that make up the initial batch are anticipated to conduct research at the space station.

Among the developed nations chosen were China, Germany, Italy, France, and Russia.

Poland, Switzerland, Norway, the Netherlands, India, Belgium, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, and Peru were among the other countries.

“The first batch of 17 countries will cover a wide range of research. Tiangong is ready for the final assembly,” reported the stated.

Chinese space station Tiangong, also known as Heavenly Palace, is self-sufficient in terms of power, propulsion, life support, and residential quarters.

By 2030, China hopes to have the space station completed, sending its first astronauts on the moon, and a crew deployed to Jupiter and Mars to gather samples.

Kenya has maintained good connections with China, one of the largest infrastructure  developers in East Africa.

“China is one of the most important national development partners for Kenya and has in the last decade extended considerable support to our infrastructure development. Assured China’s ambassador to Kenya, Zhou Pingjian, that the new administration of President William Ruto has no plans whatsoever to scale down our collaboration with the Republic of China,” National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula assured.