DP Ruto allies removed from key Senate committee positions

Deputy President Dr William Ruto (left) with Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei and his Meru counterpart Mithika Linturi are among Jubilee Party rebels allied to Deputy President William Ruto who were on Tuesday removed from key Senate House committees.

Addressing the press at Jubilee Party headquarters in Nairobi, Senate Majority Whip Irungu Kang’ata, announced that Senator Cherargei – who chaired the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee (JLAC) – will be replaced by Kithure Kindiki (Tharaka Nithi).

Senator Linturi, who served under Cherargei as JLAC Vice Chair, is set to be replaced by Christopher Lang’at (Bomet).

Cherargei now takes up Kang’ata’s seat as member of the Powers and Privileges Committee while Linturi was moved to the Delegated Legislation, replacing newly installed Majority Leader Samuel Poghisio (West Pokot.)

Laikipia’s John Kinyua was removed as chairman of the Devolution Committee and replaced with Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen and transferred to the ICT Committee where he steps in for Senator Poghisio.