Murkomen, Kihika dismiss Jubilee Party’s Senate leadership overhaul as invalid

Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen

22 senators led by ex-Majority Whip Susan Kihika have written to the senate speaker Kenneth Lusaka protesting the changes made to the Jubilee Senate leadership.

The senators have also rejected the new formed Jubilee and KANU coalition saying it was not sanctioned by Jubilee’s NEC as required by the party’s laws.

In letter dated May 11, the senators opposed the removal of Majority Leader and Majority Whip claiming the changes were made without regard to the standing order 19 that requires half of all the senators to be present at the removal.

The senators included; Kipchumba Murkomen, Susan Kihika, Araon Cheruiyot, Millicent Omanga, Samson Cherargei, Christopher Langat, Michael Mbito, Mahamud Mohamed, Juma Wario, Mary Senata, Phillip Mpaayei, Alice Milgo, Victor Prengei, Kithure Kindiki, Mithika Linturi, Stephen Lelegwe, Margaret Kamar, Iman Falhada, Naomi Waqo, Anwar Loitiptip, John Kinyua and Christine Wawudi.

The standing order 19 in question would require 18 out of the 35 Jubilee senators to vote for a removal of the two.

The senators now claim that none of them received any official invitation to the meeting whose agenda was to remove Senators Susan Kihika and Kipchumba Murkomen.