President Kenyatta closes Kenya’s borders with Tanzania, Somalia for one month, extends nationwide dusk-to-dawn curfew

President Uhuru Kenyatta

President Uhuru Kenyatta has banned movement of persons and passengers in and out of Kenya through the Tanzania and Somalia borders following the rise of cross-border Covid-19 transmission.

The President said only cargo vehicles will be exempted from the directive which takes effect from midnight May 16, 2020.

Kenyatta however stated that only truck drivers who test negative for the coronavirus will be allowed entry into Kenya.

“All drivers of the cargo vehicles shall be subjected to mandatory COVID-19 disease testing and will only be granted entry into the territory of the Republic of Kenya if they test negative,” said the president.

Addressing the Nation from State House, Nairobi, President Kenyatta said over the last week a total of 43 cases recorded in the country had been imported from the neighbouring Somalia and Tanzania.

“These 43 cases represent almost a quarter of the 166 confirmed infections during this last week,” said Kenyatta.

President Uhuru Kenyatta also extended the nationwide dusk-to-dawn curfew by 21 more days in a bid to tame the spread of the coronavirus as the country recorded 49 new cases.

According to President Kenyatta, the 7pm to 5am curfew will now end on June 6, 2020.